When Life Throws You A Curveball…

While browsing through the blog updates I get every morning, I saw a post from a dear friend whose hopes seem to have been dashed to bits.  My heart instantly went out to her because I too have had those moments in my life.  Moments when you get some type of news that seems to deflate you on the spot.  My most recent was just this past week.

Our five-year old daughter had been hurt on our trampoline (dont’ get me started on the guilt and regret I feel for letting her do front flips in the first place…) and the doctors told me she’d broken her tiny shoulder.  Knowing in my gut that the treatment they’d sent us home with wasn’t enough, I took her to Children’s Hospital over an hour away.  I knew that something wasn’t right, but I felt like I had been kicked in the stomach when they told me that the treatment the county hospital had done was actually making the break worse!  So many emotions ran through me in that moment; sorrow, disbelief, anger (well more like rage if I’m going to be honest), but mostly I felt overwhelmingly guilty.  I had let her jump on that accident waiting to happen.  I had taken her to the county hospital known for their uncanny ability to misdiagnose almost everything.  I had taken her back to that same hospital a second time, wasting precious days, all the while their treatment was actually harming my precious baby.  In that moment, I could barely breathe thinking on my role in this very common childhood injury.

My ‘go to’ verse for times when life seems to be suffocating me is from my favorite book in God’s Word, 1 Peter 1:6-7:

” 6 In all this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials.   7 These have come so that the proven genuineness of your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.”

The old saying: “Everything has its season” has its roots in this verse.  I know my daughter won’t have a broken arm for the rest of her life.  It will heal.  (It’s already healing quite well in fact, Praise God!)  My dear friends’ hard times won’t last forever.  All things work for His good, and these times, these moments, they only come to strengthen our faith.  And I thank God that He thinks I’m strong enough to go through this right now, and I know to lean on Him when it gets too hard for me to breathe.

Leave a Reply

